Twilight Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Download the Twilight Strategy e-book!

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 10
 1 
 on: April 13, 2017, 04:55:19 pm 
Started by MZA - Last post by robert_guiscard
Two-parter....

1.
Could you take Pakistan, and try and go for India in Turn 1? You might not control India, but you could present him with several targets instead of just one.

2.
Many possible answers... First if DEFCON is at 4 you'll probably get 2VP next turn from couping, which is good.

Excuse the ignorance here, KiG, but how can you get 2 vp from couping in turn 2?

 2 
 on: April 12, 2017, 04:09:16 pm 
Started by virlouvet - Last post by MollyMae
If I understand the question correctly, you're wondering if you can/must play Missile Envy for your last AR?  The answer is yes, you must play Missile Envy for ops. 

You're also probably obligated to thank your opponent for being so nice.  =P

EDIT: Interestingly, if you had a HELD card, you would have to give that to your opponent.  So you would start the last AR with a scoring card and Missile Envy.  In that case, you could play the scoring card, but would be obligated to play Missile Envy for Ops on AR1 of the next turn.  You can never be obligated to hold a scoring card.  (Someone can correct me if I'm wrong here, but I'm pretty sure there was a thread on this exact scenario).

EDIT2: 10.1.5 A player may not be forced to Hold a Scoring Card through the effects of an Event(s).

 3 
 on: April 10, 2017, 08:45:53 pm 
Started by virlouvet - Last post by virlouvet
Hi everybody,
I recently faced the following situation : it was the last AR for the turn and I had (as the US) only 1 card left in hand (a scoring card). My opponent (USSR) played "Missile envy" and I gave him my highest card (the scoring card). Being a neutral event, the scoring was carried out. Then I could play (had to play) "Missile envy" for my last AR.
What do you think  : allowed or not by the rules (I think yes) ?
Thanks !

 4 
 on: April 06, 2017, 12:12:15 am 
Started by Phillo86 - Last post by virlouvet
Hi, just check paragraph 2.1.1. of the rules

 5 
 on: April 05, 2017, 06:27:35 am 
Started by Phillo86 - Last post by LWhisley
I have to say that this point is that the acquisition is called extraordinary.

 6 
 on: April 05, 2017, 06:27:23 am 
Started by MZA - Last post by LWhisley
Well done . For a  Great cause.

 7 
 on: March 29, 2017, 12:24:21 pm 
Started by MZA - Last post by MZA
Thanks KiG, that's helped provide a framework for me to work within.  I'd welcome any other feedback anyone might have!

 8 
 on: March 22, 2017, 09:30:18 pm 
Started by MZA - Last post by KiG
Many possible answers... First if DEFCON is at 4 you'll probably get 2VP next turn from couping, which is good. Alternatively if you have a possibility to deny presence in the ME by couping Iraq then that is a plausible AR6. If Nasser comes out then that will also be a viable target. Don't be too scared of coups though, if Thailand is 3*/0 then a non-boosted China Card has only a 50/50 chance to flip it... and giving up the China Card should never be done lightly.

 9 
 on: March 20, 2017, 07:44:20 am 
Started by MZA - Last post by MZA
Hi all,

  I regularly play against a particular opponent who is strong with the force (I'd always rather play against someone better than me tbh... you can interpret this as either 'wanting to be challenged' or 'masochism' as you prefer... ;D ) and the same situation crops up in many of our (online) games.

  T1AR1USSR - he coups Iran and ends with influence there and Defcon at 4.
  T1AR1US - I counter-coup and retake Iran, Defcon is now at 3.

  Then, instead of counter-counter-couping on T1AR2, he'll leave things as they are, Defcon-wise.  If I take Pakistan, he'll take Afghanistan.

  I know that generally the US wants to avoid taking Defcon to 3 but whether or not I'll do so is largely dependent on my opening hand (and even with the threat of Vietnam Revolts et al, isn't it still better to try and retake Iran and secure the Iron Triangle?  Which is the greater imperative here?)

  I'd be interested to hear people's general thoughts and opinions on any or all of the above, but the $64,000 question is - what do I do now about Defcon?  I know from experience that if I leave it at 3, so will he, meaning T2 begins at Defcon 4 and he can Coup (very possibly with the China Card) in Asia, to great effect (bye-bye Pakistan or Thailand).  However, the only real alternative - wasting OPs on couping Iraq, purely to lower Defcon, at a time when the US needs all the OPs it can get (and has already met its Military Ops requirement) - seems blatantly sub-optimal.

  I'd welcome your advice and opinions regarding all of the above!

 10 
 on: February 27, 2017, 07:40:39 am 
Started by Signor Darcy - Last post by Signor Darcy
Hello everybody;

I think that the German situation is a lttle bit underrated in Twilight struggle.
Time ago, during a fan contest in Italy, I proposed these two cards (of course they could be better, I rapidly create them) related to DDR and Stasi history:


As far as I know, immediately
2 op, USA, Late war
Remove up to 3 USSR influence from East Germany and Hungary and add 1 USA influence in Austria.

(The quote is referred to the famous Schabowski's 1989 press conference.)


The shield and the sword
2 op, USSR, Early war
If the URSS military track is not at zero, the USA cannot add influence in East Germany. Otherwise, each USA influence added as operation costs exactly 2 operation points.

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 10

Page created in 1.296 seconds with 15 queries.