Twilight Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Download the Twilight Strategy e-book!

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 10
 11 
 on: September 09, 2017, 06:56:41 pm 
Started by kaladost - Last post by kaladost
Alright, I'm sorry if this has been answered before, just cannot find it for the life of me.

If I'm the US player, and I'm forced to discard a card via Aldrich or whatever, do the event trigger? Same thing as the USSR player with 5yp etc?

I see people all over saying that Aldrich + lone gunman is game over and I just can't get why exactly..

Thanks!

 12 
 on: August 21, 2017, 05:56:24 am 
Started by MZA - Last post by Vasek
I would headline the Romanian abdication, while reinforcing Italy at the same time (with the"traditional" setup 4DE, 3IT). You are going to give him Romania for free at one point or another during the 1 round anyway and you only loose 1 OP.

Headlining Nasser is too much of a risk. The opponent might have the Middle-East Scoring and/or headline Suez Crisis or arab-israeli war and kick you out fo the region for the most of the game. Or, In the 1st AR, he might put 1OP in Egypt and 3OP in Iran - thus controlling both countries with 3OP and making them super-difficult to coup. You would need a really good dice roll with your only 4OP card to revert it.  For me, manaing Nasser would be the greatest challenge fo your 1st turn and you should do it towards the end of it, once you know better what the opponent is up to and what seems to be the fate of the Middle East.

 13 
 on: August 20, 2017, 12:37:21 pm 
Started by MZA - Last post by theory
Yeah it's not great - I think you have no choice but to HL Nasser.  It gives you if nothing else an easy early coup target.

 14 
 on: June 23, 2017, 04:35:26 am 
Started by MZA - Last post by MZA
This isn't another "terrible hand, what do I do?!?" thread - I've seen far worse hands than this, and am comfortable with playing it in-turn.

My question is more specific - what card do I HL (and why?)

Playing as US:

De-Stal
UN Intervention
Romanian Abdication
Nasser
Five Year Plan
Formosan Resolution
Nuclear Test Ban
Cambridge Five

Taking these in turn:

De-Stal, UN Intervention - blatantly not.  The former is my hold (ideally for the next 2 turns) card, the latter cannot be HL'd.
Romanian Abdication - would get rid of a 1 OP and give Indie Reds a target when it appears, but also gives him an easy Domination if has EU scoring and opens with an Italy coup (which he occasionally does) or DeGaulles his way into France.
Nasser - again, culls a 1 OP, and gives me a target if the Iran coup leaves it at 0/0, but I usually prefer to play 2 into Egypt before playing Nasser, and (depending on the outcome of the coup chain) it could both cut me off from Libya AND make Israel harder to defend.
FYP - I'm loathe to HL a 3 OP in T1, least of all one that could potentially do more harm than good.
Formosan - highly situational event at best, too early to say if it's going to be needed, strips the deck in his favour.
Nuclear Test Ban - VP buffer wouldn't hurt but no way am I HL'ing my only 4 OP in T1.
Cambridge Five - doesn't technically hurt me but gives him some information (i.e. I have no scorecards) and doesn't actually achieve anything.

Thoughts?

 15 
 on: May 23, 2017, 10:38:33 am 
Started by MZA - Last post by MZA
Two-parter....

1.
Could you take Pakistan, and try and go for India in Turn 1? You might not control India, but you could present him with several targets instead of just one.

A fair response, it would depend on how many 'spare' OPs I had to commit to this avenue and whether I hold Indo-Pak War to some degree, but it at least presents a viable option!

Excuse the ignorance here, KiG, but how can you get 2 vp from couping in turn 2?

I believe KiG is referring to the fact that, if I don't lower Defcon any further in T1, nor will my opponent, meaning T2 will start with Defcon improving to 4.  He will then coup an Asian BG (assuming I have Inf in one), leaving Defcon at 3 (assuming no shenanigans via HL and/or Duck and Cover), giving me the chance to countercoup, thereby securing Mil Ops I would otherwise have been denied, for a net gain of 2VP.

 16 
 on: May 10, 2017, 12:08:13 pm 
Started by MZA - Last post by MollyMae
Hi all,

  I'm Murray, a 41 year-old Twilight addict from Newbury, UK.  My (relevant) background is a near-lifelong interest in both hobby games and poker, and a fascination with Cold War history.  In spite of these innate preferences, TS somehow managed to become my favourite game of all time...  ;D

  I downloaded the ebook (thank you thank you thank you!) many moons ago and dusted it off again recently in readiness for the Steam implementation, which has been a godsend for me - the only friends I have who play TS have busy lives and other interests / significant others to juggle, so I was only playing about once every year to two years (I kid you not).  In the last month that's jumped to around once every 3 or 4 days; although this is primarily against random strangers, that doesn't matter as long as I'm feeding my habit.  ;)

  I enjoy pimping the games I own, but TS doesn't lend itself to pimpery very well IMHO; my cards are sleeved (natch) and I have custom dice, that's about it.  I'll be trawling the forums shortly, but I guess if I have an opening question it would be this: do any other forum members also pimp their games, and if so, what have you done to improve on (deluxe ed) Twilight Struggle?  Let's see some pics!  My next project is to create a foamcore insert, and tuckboxes that fit sleeved card decks (I've tried every one currently on BGG but none of them fit, regardless of page sizing... I often create my own though, so this isn't a big deal); but I'm mainly asking for ideas for cool 3D components (suitable replacements for the Turn/Action/Space Race/Defcon charts, for example...)

TIA!

MZA

Here's an extremely late reply, but I tend to upgrade games, typically with inserts and upgraded components.  As you mentioned, TS doesn't lend itself well to that.  I decided to make mine special in a different way, though.  I ended up taking the board around with me as an autograph board.  I'd let folks sign on their favourite place in the world.  Some signatures I've collected:

Eric Stuart - Musician/Voice actor (signed Brooklyn, NY)
J Michael Tatum - Voice actor (signed France)
Joe Philley - Actor, Niantic Labs Employee, Former Secret Service (signed Vietnam)
Ashly Burch - Youtube celebrity/comedian (signed the Atlantic Ocean)
Jeff Stein - Designer of The War Game: World War II (signed New Orleans, LA)

A few signatures that I missed because I didn't have my board: Chris Hadfield (Canadian Astronaut), Abigail Harrison (Mars Generation/Space Exploration Enthusiast), Antoine Bauza (game designer), Yasser Seirawan (chess Grandmaster)

It definitely makes my copy of TS unique.

 17 
 on: May 08, 2017, 12:41:23 am 
Started by toonces - Last post by Shepers
My friends and I do this: brief review of the bathmate

Optional cards
No CCW
No extra influence for US
Player who draws 2+ scoring cards in turn 1 may force a redeal

Hey Jack that's a good way of doing it. I will be giving this way a try next time I play.

 18 
 on: April 13, 2017, 04:55:19 pm 
Started by MZA - Last post by robert_guiscard
Two-parter....

1.
Could you take Pakistan, and try and go for India in Turn 1? You might not control India, but you could present him with several targets instead of just one.

2.
Many possible answers... First if DEFCON is at 4 you'll probably get 2VP next turn from couping, which is good.

Excuse the ignorance here, KiG, but how can you get 2 vp from couping in turn 2?

 19 
 on: April 12, 2017, 04:09:16 pm 
Started by virlouvet - Last post by MollyMae
If I understand the question correctly, you're wondering if you can/must play Missile Envy for your last AR?  The answer is yes, you must play Missile Envy for ops. 

You're also probably obligated to thank your opponent for being so nice.  =P

EDIT: Interestingly, if you had a HELD card, you would have to give that to your opponent.  So you would start the last AR with a scoring card and Missile Envy.  In that case, you could play the scoring card, but would be obligated to play Missile Envy for Ops on AR1 of the next turn.  You can never be obligated to hold a scoring card.  (Someone can correct me if I'm wrong here, but I'm pretty sure there was a thread on this exact scenario).

EDIT2: 10.1.5 A player may not be forced to Hold a Scoring Card through the effects of an Event(s).

 20 
 on: April 10, 2017, 08:45:53 pm 
Started by virlouvet - Last post by virlouvet
Hi everybody,
I recently faced the following situation : it was the last AR for the turn and I had (as the US) only 1 card left in hand (a scoring card). My opponent (USSR) played "Missile envy" and I gave him my highest card (the scoring card). Being a neutral event, the scoring was carried out. Then I could play (had to play) "Missile envy" for my last AR.
What do you think  : allowed or not by the rules (I think yes) ?
Thanks !

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 10

Page created in 0.05 seconds with 17 queries.