Twilight Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Download the Twilight Strategy e-book!

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 10
 21 
 on: September 24, 2017, 05:36:22 pm 
Started by Fugitive Unknown - Last post by kaladost
I'm usualy not really offended when my opponent red/scare me on first turn headline or AR1. I look at it this way.

Most of the time I'm not gonna play 6 cards for OP, it's usualy a mix of OPs, Card effects, coups and propably scoring card. And of course I may have some 1 OP that are not affected by RSRP. So all in all, I may lose let say between 0-6 OP, probably more in the range of 2-4 OP on that turn. And my opponent lost 4 OP.

So most of the time, you end up between a net -1 to +1 OP. I don't know if I see this wrong but hey haha It's a way to see it I think.

 22 
 on: September 20, 2017, 10:19:34 am 
Started by Special C - Last post by Special C
I've been playing a lot on the Android app, and ran into some interesting interactions. I headlined 5YP, and my opponent was forced to discard defectors. Interestingly, defectors took place and then in turn canceled the USSR headline. 

Remembering this interaction, today I headlined Grain Sales and pulled Defectors. USSR had headlined quagmire, and I couldn't afford to be quagmired this turn so instead of using defectors for ops I decided to play the event thinking it would cancel Quagmire. Unfortunately since Quagmire is a 3 Ops, it had already occurred and defectors did nothing effectively wasting my headline.

I cant remember what my opponent headlined in the first situation, but I imagine if it was a 4 ops card then 5YP would have discarded defectors and nothing would have happened.

I'm guessing the same thing would happen with Missile Envy though the odds of it pulling a 2 ops card in the headline would be extremely low.

I'm a little irritated that it let me even use defectors in the first place, but you live and learn I guess.

 23 
 on: September 20, 2017, 05:09:36 am 
Started by MZA - Last post by MZA
Thank you, I'll take a late response over none at all! :)

Would love to see pics of your board, that's a great idea!  Such a shame you didn't have it when you met Hadfield (the only name on the list I didn't need an explanation for) - pretty much a given for signing the Space Race track, amirite? :D

 24 
 on: September 11, 2017, 06:38:02 pm 
Started by kaladost - Last post by kaladost
Alright thanks!

I think it was because of the old version of Aldrich right? :P

thanks!

 25 
 on: September 11, 2017, 03:32:18 pm 
Started by kaladost - Last post by mihaild
In case of Terrorism it's just a reminder.
Five Year Plan explicitly specifies when event occurs (ie if USSR discards US event). When not specified, event on discard doesn't occur.

 26 
 on: September 09, 2017, 09:15:27 pm 
Started by kaladost - Last post by kaladost
In the rulebook it says "5.4
 When an event forces a player to discard a card, the Event
on the discarded card is not implemented. This rule also applies
to Scoring cards."

But then on cards like Terrorism it state "Events on discards do not occur"

Why? I'm confused..

 27 
 on: September 09, 2017, 06:56:41 pm 
Started by kaladost - Last post by kaladost
Alright, I'm sorry if this has been answered before, just cannot find it for the life of me.

If I'm the US player, and I'm forced to discard a card via Aldrich or whatever, do the event trigger? Same thing as the USSR player with 5yp etc?

I see people all over saying that Aldrich + lone gunman is game over and I just can't get why exactly..

Thanks!

 28 
 on: August 21, 2017, 05:56:24 am 
Started by MZA - Last post by Vasek
I would headline the Romanian abdication, while reinforcing Italy at the same time (with the"traditional" setup 4DE, 3IT). You are going to give him Romania for free at one point or another during the 1 round anyway and you only loose 1 OP.

Headlining Nasser is too much of a risk. The opponent might have the Middle-East Scoring and/or headline Suez Crisis or arab-israeli war and kick you out fo the region for the most of the game. Or, In the 1st AR, he might put 1OP in Egypt and 3OP in Iran - thus controlling both countries with 3OP and making them super-difficult to coup. You would need a really good dice roll with your only 4OP card to revert it.  For me, manaing Nasser would be the greatest challenge fo your 1st turn and you should do it towards the end of it, once you know better what the opponent is up to and what seems to be the fate of the Middle East.

 29 
 on: August 20, 2017, 12:37:21 pm 
Started by MZA - Last post by theory
Yeah it's not great - I think you have no choice but to HL Nasser.  It gives you if nothing else an easy early coup target.

 30 
 on: June 23, 2017, 04:35:26 am 
Started by MZA - Last post by MZA
This isn't another "terrible hand, what do I do?!?" thread - I've seen far worse hands than this, and am comfortable with playing it in-turn.

My question is more specific - what card do I HL (and why?)

Playing as US:

De-Stal
UN Intervention
Romanian Abdication
Nasser
Five Year Plan
Formosan Resolution
Nuclear Test Ban
Cambridge Five

Taking these in turn:

De-Stal, UN Intervention - blatantly not.  The former is my hold (ideally for the next 2 turns) card, the latter cannot be HL'd.
Romanian Abdication - would get rid of a 1 OP and give Indie Reds a target when it appears, but also gives him an easy Domination if has EU scoring and opens with an Italy coup (which he occasionally does) or DeGaulles his way into France.
Nasser - again, culls a 1 OP, and gives me a target if the Iran coup leaves it at 0/0, but I usually prefer to play 2 into Egypt before playing Nasser, and (depending on the outcome of the coup chain) it could both cut me off from Libya AND make Israel harder to defend.
FYP - I'm loathe to HL a 3 OP in T1, least of all one that could potentially do more harm than good.
Formosan - highly situational event at best, too early to say if it's going to be needed, strips the deck in his favour.
Nuclear Test Ban - VP buffer wouldn't hurt but no way am I HL'ing my only 4 OP in T1.
Cambridge Five - doesn't technically hurt me but gives him some information (i.e. I have no scorecards) and doesn't actually achieve anything.

Thoughts?

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 10

Page created in 0.075 seconds with 17 queries.