Twilight Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Download the Twilight Strategy e-book!

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Flower Power and war not playable  (Read 3195 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Vell

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17
  • Respect: +5
    • View Profile
Flower Power and war not playable
« on: January 21, 2013, 05:56:43 pm »
0

One question about that

Flower power has been played and also Camp David Accords. Later on US plays Arab Israeli war. The event doesn't trigger according to text since we played Camp David Accords, but does soviet player get the 2 VP anyway?
I guess he will since Flower powers text says
 "USSR gains 2 VP for every subsequently US played 'War Card' (played as an event or Operations) unless played on Space Race"
Am I right, or just cheating?  :P
Logged

Cal

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 148
  • Respect: +55
    • View Profile
Re: Flower Power and war not playable
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2013, 06:28:23 pm »
+1

If Arab-Israeli War has been blocked with Camp David Accords, then it doesn't count as a war card for the purpose of Flower Power and the USSR does not get 2VP.

It's the only war card that can be cancelled though.
Logged

Vell

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17
  • Respect: +5
    • View Profile
Re: Flower Power and war not playable
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2013, 11:03:52 am »
0

Just to clarify, could you tell me the reasoning behind your answer?

It is not playable as event, Ok, but it is still a "War card" as listed in Flower Power card text, and played for Ops, so should be triggering Flower Power since it meets the requirements.

Flower Power doesn't say that it should be a "playable as event war", just a "war card", and played as an event or operations.
« Last Edit: January 22, 2013, 11:05:59 am by Vell »
Logged

Cal

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 148
  • Respect: +55
    • View Profile
Re: Flower Power and war not playable
« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2013, 02:36:49 pm »
+1

It's an official answer from the FAQ. Think of it this way, once the event part of the card is cancelled, it ceases to be a 'war card'. It's essentially just a blank 2op card now.

I know, you could argue your way makes sense too and there's nothing really stopping you from playing it that way if you're having a game with friends, but the official standardized answer from the developers on this issue is: "Arab-Israeli War played for ops by the US player after the event has been canceled with Camp David Accords does not award 2VP to the USSR if Flower Power is in effect because the event being canceled means it is no longer a war card."

Think of it as further incentive for the USSR to space Camp David Accords.
Logged

Vell

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17
  • Respect: +5
    • View Profile
Re: Flower Power and war not playable
« Reply #4 on: January 23, 2013, 02:34:08 am »
0

Cool, I will play it that way then.

Thanks a lot again for your answer Cal.
Logged

discomute

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 65
  • Respect: +3
    • View Profile
Re: Flower Power and war not playable
« Reply #5 on: March 15, 2013, 12:11:23 am »
0

Could someone link a copy of the official FAQ?
Logged

DeDaan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
  • Wargameroom username: DeDaan
  • Gaming is living!
  • Respect: +14
    • View Profile
    • United Friends Boardgaming
Re: Flower Power and war not playable
« Reply #6 on: March 17, 2013, 04:36:33 am »
0

I think the latest version can be found here: http://boardgamegeek.com/filepage/35268/twilight-struggle-faq-version-4-2, although there are some issues being answered on BGG and Consimworld not yet included in this document.
Logged
Interested in taking part in face-to-face, online or PbEM events? Check my website!
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.071 seconds with 21 queries.