Twilight Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Download the Twilight Strategy e-book!

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Underlined and starred  (Read 1737 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

michelgr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • Respect: 0
    • View Profile
Underlined and starred
« on: January 27, 2013, 08:47:05 am »
0

I think this is very much a beginner's question, but hope you can answer it anyway. What happens with cards that are both underlined and starred, like NATO? The rules state they stay in play, but the card says it should be discarded when played as an event. When USSR plays the card, the event triggers, and when US plays it triggers. Or in the case of NATO, should the card be discarded directly when played by US, and stay in play when played as OPs by USSR?

Thanks!
Logged

Jack Rudd

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 37
  • Respect: +17
    • View Profile
Re: Underlined and starred
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2013, 09:22:34 am »
0

I think this is very much a beginner's question, but hope you can answer it anyway. What happens with cards that are both underlined and starred, like NATO? The rules state they stay in play, but the card says it should be discarded when played as an event. When USSR plays the card, the event triggers, and when US plays it triggers. Or in the case of NATO, should the card be discarded directly when played by US, and stay in play when played as OPs by USSR?

Thanks!

The card is removed from play when played as an event (so it can't ever come up again in the draw deck), but because it has a continuing effect, it's put by the side of the board rather than out of the game. This applies no matter who plays it as an event.
Logged

Chimista

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 109
  • Wargameroom username: chimista
  • Respect: +18
    • View Profile
Re: Underlined and starred
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2013, 02:07:25 pm »
0

It's also important to consider that NATO has prerequisites to be played as event: either Marshall Plan or Warsaw Pact must have been played before for NATO event to be triggered, thus if USSR plays NATO but neither Marshall Plan or Warsaw has been played as event before NATO can't be activated, making it very advisable for the USSR to play it asap.
Logged

Cal

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 148
  • Respect: +55
    • View Profile
Re: Underlined and starred
« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2013, 05:10:00 pm »
0

It just means the card is removed from the game, but the event isn't something that you resolve right away, it's an event that exists forever. For example, a one-time event is something like Comecon where the USSR gets to put +1 influence in 4 non US-controlled E. Europe countries. NATO is a constant effect: after it is played, the USSR can never attempt coups or realignments in US-controlled Europe countries, nor one of those countries as the target for Brush War.

Note that events like these with lingering effects can usually be cancelled in another way. De Gaulle Leads France will cancel NATO for France and France only. Quagmire will cancel NORAD. The US play of the China Card will cancel Formosa Resolution, etc.
Logged
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.135 seconds with 21 queries.