Twilight Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Download the Twilight Strategy e-book!

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: US +2 forced as the new standard?  (Read 7042 times)

Tbody

• Wargameroom username: TbodyTS
  • Respect: +5
    • View Profile
US +2 forced as the new standard?
« on: March 07, 2013, 09:59:05 am »

I've been playing the game for about 2 months now.  Not a lot of time, but I've managed to fit in nearly 50 games in that amount of time.  I'm ABSOLUTELY enjoying the game.  I remember the first night I discovered Wargameroom, and I couldn't sleep more than an hour after my first few online games just thinking about how I had been bested.  I love playing on the real cardboard, but for some weird reason, when using WGR's basic setup, I feel more plugged into the game.  It feels like I'm at some old computer monitor with text scrolling down the screen like in some scene from Hunt From the Red October.

So that's me.  I love playing as the US.  I think its more fun.  And it's not even close.  Tonight, in the WGR chat, I was randomly asked to play a game.  I said yes.  They asked if it could be US +2.  No problem, I'm thinking, I'll just tell the guy I'll play US as +1 and we'll both happy.  Nope.  This guy's agenda was "pushing the new standard", as set forth by a post he had read by Rikku on BGG. 

My argument was that even if the US might be at a slight disadvantage at +1 (which I'm not endorsing), as I feel its more fun to play (and the other guys agreed with me), why should we push the influence up to US +2.  I mean, if I like to play as the US, and would do with no added influence, why should I risk the chance of getting selected as the Soviet player facing a US player with +2.  That's not a fun game for me.