Twilight Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Download the Twilight Strategy e-book!

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: "One Small Step" rules clarification  (Read 3262 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

pietshaq

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 262
  • Wargameroom username: WojciechPietrzak_TS
  • Respect: +46
    • View Profile
    • My Twilight Struggle blog
"One Small Step" rules clarification
« on: April 19, 2013, 04:22:16 am »
0

Hi!

USSR Player has reached Eagle/Bear has Landed
USA Player has reached Lunar Orbit

Can USA Player play "One Small Step" as an event and reach Eagle/Bear has Landed as well or as an empty event (or for Ops) only?

Best regards
Logged
If you find my contribution useful, please donate some Bitcoins: 1LTicKy5ww4tAQwLqRDHxbpKHBQ9QvcK72
My Twilight Struggle blog

BockBockChicken

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • Respect: 0
    • View Profile
Re: "One Small Step" rules clarification
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2013, 09:15:42 pm »
0

You can play it as an event to reach the "Space Shuttle" box, and earn 4 points. You also cancel the USSR ability to discard one held card.
Logged

Cal

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 148
  • Respect: +55
    • View Profile
Re: "One Small Step" rules clarification
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2013, 02:34:18 am »
0

USSR Player has reached Eagle/Bear has Landed
USA Player has reached Lunar Orbit

Are you using the Space Race track from the first edition map board, or the deluxe edition?
Logged

pietshaq

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 262
  • Wargameroom username: WojciechPietrzak_TS
  • Respect: +46
    • View Profile
    • My Twilight Struggle blog
Re: "One Small Step" rules clarification
« Reply #3 on: April 24, 2013, 06:29:06 am »
0

Deluxe.

The question is: can I use the event to move one step forward because two steps forward is already impossible?
Logged
If you find my contribution useful, please donate some Bitcoins: 1LTicKy5ww4tAQwLqRDHxbpKHBQ9QvcK72
My Twilight Struggle blog

pietshaq

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 262
  • Wargameroom username: WojciechPietrzak_TS
  • Respect: +46
    • View Profile
    • My Twilight Struggle blog
Re: "One Small Step" rules clarification
« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2013, 07:04:40 am »
0

I'm posting a reply here to avoid forgetting the question which is still unanswered :)

Maybe I'll try to rewrite the question to make it easier to understand:
If my opponent had already finished the Space Race and I am only one step behind him, can I play "One Small Step" event to finish the Space Race too (moving one step ahead since two steps ahead are impossible, like other events which are only partially possible to make use of, e.g. Junta played as an event with no opponent's influence in either America) or can't I play "One Small Step" event (since its exact effect is impossible to reach despite meeting conditions)?
Logged
If you find my contribution useful, please donate some Bitcoins: 1LTicKy5ww4tAQwLqRDHxbpKHBQ9QvcK72
My Twilight Struggle blog

theory

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 114
  • Respect: +51
    • View Profile
    • Twilight Strategy
Re: "One Small Step" rules clarification
« Reply #5 on: May 14, 2013, 02:16:33 pm »
+2

I think you land on the secret special bonus space race box: "Humanity has departed for Alpha Centauri" :)

Probably you can play it and just get to move one step ahead.
Logged

BamBix

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 37
  • Wargameroom username: BamBix_TS
  • Respect: +11
    • View Profile
Re: "One Small Step" rules clarification
« Reply #6 on: May 15, 2013, 03:33:36 am »
0

I would say so as well, but do you get the VP's?
Logged

pietshaq

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 262
  • Wargameroom username: WojciechPietrzak_TS
  • Respect: +46
    • View Profile
    • My Twilight Struggle blog
Re: "One Small Step" rules clarification
« Reply #7 on: May 15, 2013, 05:05:39 am »
0

The VP reward for the last box is 2/0 anyway and I end up second so in this case its irrelevant :)
Logged
If you find my contribution useful, please donate some Bitcoins: 1LTicKy5ww4tAQwLqRDHxbpKHBQ9QvcK72
My Twilight Struggle blog

MarlesChartel

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 81
  • Wargameroom username: MarlesChartel
  • Respect: +20
    • View Profile
Re: "One Small Step" rules clarification
« Reply #8 on: May 16, 2013, 04:02:13 am »
0

If you get far enough in the space race for this to matter both of you have been playing poorly.
Logged

pietshaq

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 262
  • Wargameroom username: WojciechPietrzak_TS
  • Respect: +46
    • View Profile
    • My Twilight Struggle blog
Re: "One Small Step" rules clarification
« Reply #9 on: May 16, 2013, 05:03:03 am »
0

I guess I could produce a scenario in which good (maybe not optimal) moves lead to this situation. However, the rules should cover even the poorest example of legal play :)
Logged
If you find my contribution useful, please donate some Bitcoins: 1LTicKy5ww4tAQwLqRDHxbpKHBQ9QvcK72
My Twilight Struggle blog
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.068 seconds with 21 queries.