Twilight Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Download the Twilight Strategy e-book!

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Quagmire  (Read 2240 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

rktscience

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • Wargameroom username: anthony
  • Respect: 0
    • View Profile
Quagmire
« on: May 04, 2013, 07:58:54 am »
0

Hello!

I am brand new to TS and I have a question about Quagmire effects.  Let's say my opponent plays it on the last of his Action Rounds and I am holding two cards left.  One is a Scoring Card; the other is a card that satisfies the Quagmire penalty. 

1) If I play the card required by Quagmire--whether or not I make the roll--I'll be forced to Hold a Scoring Card and lose.  In this situation, may I play the Scoring Card?  I know I would be able to if I only had a 1 Ops card and couldn't meet the conditions of Quagmire.

Rules 10.1.5 says:  "A player may not be forced to Hold a Scoring Card through
the effects of an Event(s)." , so the intent seems pretty clear that a player should not lose the game this way

2)  So if I'm right and must play the Scoring card, there is no roll to escape Quagmire and it continues to the next turn.  I'll lose AR1 and have to discard and roll to escape.  But can I still play and execute HL events?  For example, could I play Grain Sales and use the card I get to do a coup while still mired in Quagmire?

Thank you.
Logged

theory

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 114
  • Respect: +51
    • View Profile
    • Twilight Strategy
Re: Quagmire
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2013, 11:14:37 am »
0

1. Yes, you can play the scoring card.

2. Yes, you are correct in your interpretation!
Logged

discomute

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 65
  • Respect: +3
    • View Profile
Re: Quagmire
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2013, 11:50:00 pm »
0

Great Question, could I ask a follow up as I am a bit unsure of how Quagmire works, this is my current understanding:

1) Is the US player discarding a card his entire AR? So he discards a card, rolls a dice, then it is USSR's turn again?
2) If the US player discards a US event, the nothing happens.
3) If the US player discards a USSR event, the event still occurs

The one I am really curious about is 3)

If I am correct, does the same apply for "ask not what your country"
Logged

pietshaq

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 262
  • Wargameroom username: WojciechPietrzak_TS
  • Respect: +46
    • View Profile
    • My Twilight Struggle blog
Re: Quagmire
« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2013, 03:26:54 am »
0

Events on the cards discarded to Quagmire/Bear Trap do not occur, no matter whose events are discarded by which player.

If you have several unplayable opponent's events, too many to space them all, you may even consider self-Quagmiring (or, more commonly, self-Bear-Trapping) to discard them just as you have spaced them, yet with some drawbacks. This is rare but not impossible.
Logged
If you find my contribution useful, please donate some Bitcoins: 1LTicKy5ww4tAQwLqRDHxbpKHBQ9QvcK72
My Twilight Struggle blog

discomute

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 65
  • Respect: +3
    • View Profile
Re: Quagmire
« Reply #4 on: May 21, 2013, 09:10:28 am »
0

Right so I was correct apart from point 3.
Logged
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.065 seconds with 21 queries.