Twilight Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Download the Twilight Strategy e-book!

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Setting up your pc/router for Wargameroom  (Read 5955 times)

DC-Chaos

• Wargameroom username: Damien_TS
  • Respect: +6
    • View Profile
Setting up your pc/router for Wargameroom
« on: May 08, 2013, 08:32:05 am »

I apologize if this has already been discussed at length elsewhere but my numerous internet searches have not come up with anything that has helped me.

I started playing TS on wargameroom a few weeks ago and am enjoying it. However It's pretty hard to find opponents right when I have a few hours to play a game and this is further complicated by the fact that, along with a lot of other players on there, I can't host a game as a server. More often than not I find an opponent only to discover we can't connect to each other and have to look for someone else who can. I started using Hamachi which was great but now I'm finding lots of people who can't use this program or that for some reason when we do use it its not working for some reason unknown to us.

Anyway what I want to know is how can I go about configuring my system so I can easily be a server for a game.
Is there a step by step guide anywhere?
Do I need a special router?
Which of the different IP addresses that come up on my ipconfig command prompt is the one I use?

I've read things like open port 2222 (which I tried to no success) but networking jargon is not familiar to me and I'm little more than a casual computer user. I find it strange that it is so difficult to use this great program to connect to other players and actually play a game.

Any help from people would be greatly appreciated so I can worry more about my twilight strategy and less about network connections and IP addresses

DC-Chaos

• Wargameroom username: Damien_TS
  • Respect: +6
    • View Profile