Twilight Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Download the Twilight Strategy e-book!

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Forced holding of scoring hold  (Read 3937 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

tmoens

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • Respect: 0
    • View Profile
Forced holding of scoring hold
« on: May 23, 2013, 01:19:45 am »
0

Newish players. Turn 5 AR7 USSR is forced to play Ask Not...  USA punts WWBY and Brezhnev Doctrine.  Draws two scoring cards.   USA seems to be forced to hold a scoring card.  Ruling (non tournament)?
Logged

MarlesChartel

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 81
  • Wargameroom username: MarlesChartel
  • Respect: +20
    • View Profile
Re: Forced holding of scoring hold
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2013, 02:20:59 am »
+1

USA wasn't forced to discard anything. They lose because they chose to discard 2 cards.
Logged

Eruantalon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 53
  • Wargameroom username: Janusz_Wójciak
  • Respect: +14
    • View Profile
Re: Forced holding of scoring hold
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2013, 04:50:35 am »
+1

By the way it was bad play to discard Brezhnev. It's better to play it harmlessly on last AR then allow USSR to draw it and headline.
Logged

DeDaan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
  • Wargameroom username: DeDaan
  • Gaming is living!
  • Respect: +14
    • View Profile
    • United Friends Boardgaming
Re: Forced holding of scoring hold
« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2013, 03:04:46 am »
+1

Small note: if US can finish the game by playing one of the scoring cards, he won't lose of course. In that case discarding Brezhnev wouldn't even be a mistake. Otherwise it's way too risky to exchange their last 2 cards. Anyway, ruling in both tournament and non-tournament play: holding a scoring card -> lose!
Logged
Interested in taking part in face-to-face, online or PbEM events? Check my website!

budzo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 83
  • Respect: +10
    • View Profile
Re: Forced holding of scoring hold
« Reply #4 on: July 21, 2013, 08:24:19 am »
0

What about USSR playing missile envy in their AR7 while US is keeping a scoring card? Does us player lose?
Logged

pietshaq

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 262
  • Wargameroom username: WojciechPietrzak_TS
  • Respect: +46
    • View Profile
    • My Twilight Struggle blog
Re: Forced holding of scoring hold
« Reply #5 on: July 21, 2013, 12:52:22 pm »
0

No, the obligation of playing Scoring Card has a priority over the obligation of playing Missile Envy (and also has priority over the obligation of discarding card to Quagmire/Bear Trap). You'll just have to play Missile Envy for Ops in your AR1 next turn provided you won't get rid of it some other way ("Ask Not...")... and you won't draw seven Scoring Cards and decide to headline something else ;)
Logged
If you find my contribution useful, please donate some Bitcoins: 1LTicKy5ww4tAQwLqRDHxbpKHBQ9QvcK72
My Twilight Struggle blog

budzo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 83
  • Respect: +10
    • View Profile
Re: Forced holding of scoring hold
« Reply #6 on: July 21, 2013, 02:42:53 pm »
0

Well theres only 6 regions so im afraid thats not possible :) But i had 5 once...
Logged

pietshaq

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 262
  • Wargameroom username: WojciechPietrzak_TS
  • Respect: +46
    • View Profile
    • My Twilight Struggle blog
Re: Forced holding of scoring hold
« Reply #7 on: July 22, 2013, 02:47:20 am »
0

There are 6 regions but 7 Scoring Cards (including Southeast Asia Scoring)
Logged
If you find my contribution useful, please donate some Bitcoins: 1LTicKy5ww4tAQwLqRDHxbpKHBQ9QvcK72
My Twilight Struggle blog

discomute

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 65
  • Respect: +3
    • View Profile
Re: Forced holding of scoring hold
« Reply #8 on: August 07, 2013, 07:00:11 am »
0

I assume if you bear trap someone with a scoring card they still get to play it, but the trap remains?
Logged

pietshaq

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 262
  • Wargameroom username: WojciechPietrzak_TS
  • Respect: +46
    • View Profile
    • My Twilight Struggle blog
Re: Forced holding of scoring hold
« Reply #9 on: August 07, 2013, 08:19:29 am »
0

I assume if you bear trap someone with a scoring card they still get to play it, but the trap remains?

Yes. However, you play Scoring Cards only if you have exactly the same number of Scoring Cards and Action Rounds remaining
Logged
If you find my contribution useful, please donate some Bitcoins: 1LTicKy5ww4tAQwLqRDHxbpKHBQ9QvcK72
My Twilight Struggle blog

budzo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 83
  • Respect: +10
    • View Profile
Re: Forced holding of scoring hold
« Reply #10 on: August 09, 2013, 01:57:12 pm »
0

Well im not sure. If u not have 2 op cards (more likely if u r under rsp) im pretty sure u can play ur scoring cards earlier.
Logged

pietshaq

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 262
  • Wargameroom username: WojciechPietrzak_TS
  • Respect: +46
    • View Profile
    • My Twilight Struggle blog
Re: Forced holding of scoring hold
« Reply #11 on: August 09, 2013, 06:45:14 pm »
0

I guess the official ruling is that if you have to both pass and play Scoring Cards, all passes come first (except if these change in the meantime, for example you play one out of three Scoring Cards and USSR plays Kennedy and you discard other Scoring Cards and pass or discard).
Logged
If you find my contribution useful, please donate some Bitcoins: 1LTicKy5ww4tAQwLqRDHxbpKHBQ9QvcK72
My Twilight Struggle blog
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.082 seconds with 22 queries.