Twilight Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Download the Twilight Strategy e-book!

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Can USSR steal the victory with WWBY and Wargames?  (Read 3243 times)

KingMento

• Respect: 0
    • View Profile
Can USSR steal the victory with WWBY and Wargames?
« on: September 19, 2013, 09:16:29 am »

Hello,
this is my first post on this forum, although I love reading it, as I find very interesting topics by many really competent players.

However, I'm a quite expert TS player (over 100 games under my belt) but now I'm wondering about a hypotetical situation that could actually become true in a game I'm actually playing on ACTS Ladder.

I'm not sure what would be the correct ruling about this scenario:

We are are the beginning of Turn 8. Defcon status is 3.

The USSR has a -4 VP leading on scoring track, but after a though Early War start US is quickly recovering and its board position is now overwhelming (US controls or dominates most of the region on the map).

USSR player knows that if the game goes to final scoring he will lose. Probably US player is holding some favorable scoring card this turn also.

UN Intervention card is in the discard pile (played previously during turn 7).

What do actually happen if USSR headlines WWBY (we assume that US headline is not influential) and then in its first action round plays Wargames to end the game and steal the victory?

Do this actually work?

Headlining WWBY would degrade Defcon status to 2 (thus meeting the precondition required by the Wargames event) and, unless UN Intervention is played as an event on the US player's next round USSR would gain 3 VP, going to a 7 VP lead.

Tecnically, USSR should wait the next US action round to verify that his opponent does not play UN Intervention and then get the 3 VPs.