Twilight Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Download the Twilight Strategy e-book!

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: De-Colonization and Special Relationship (clarifications requested)  (Read 2240 times)

elisha

• Respect: 0
    • View Profile

Hello,

I am relatively new to TS, having played about a half dozen games.  My regular opponent and I have debated the interpretation of two cards, De-Colonization and Special Relationship, and I am hoping to get help in clarifying how these cards are to be played.

De-Colonization:  it seems to me that this event allows the USSR player to put down 1 influence point, anywhere in four countries in Africa/SE Asia, without regard to whether my opponent has control of that country.  The rules clearly state that when an event permits placement of influence, one need not have influence in the country in question or any adjoining country in order to place influence.  On the other hand, since the rules are apparently silent regarding the other major condition affecting placement of influence through operations points (i.e. that they cost 2 operations points when the country is opponent-controlled), this (my opponent argues) suggests that each such influence point put down with the De-Colonization card counts as 2 if the country in question is opponent-controlled.  I say that the simple meaning of the card is: 4 influence points, anywhere, since the event does not grant operations points, but outright influence instead.