Twilight Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Download the Twilight Strategy e-book!

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Another Missile Envy clarification (Breshnev/Containment)  (Read 3348 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

blitzgordon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 47
  • Respect: +4
    • View Profile
Another Missile Envy clarification (Breshnev/Containment)
« on: December 08, 2013, 01:30:55 pm »
0

The answer is lost likely "no" to this, but it was an interesting take:
USSR headlines Breshnev.
US headlines Missile Envy.

Can USSR exchange a 3op card as well as a 4op card, since they are, in effect, valued equally to USSR?

My response would be "no", since one card still has a higher number than the other and they are only in effect but not formally valued equally (RS/P would affect them differently, for instance).

Any opinions?

sincerely,
Blitz
Logged

pietshaq

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 262
  • Wargameroom username: WojciechPietrzak_TS
  • Respect: +46
    • View Profile
    • My Twilight Struggle blog
Re: Another Missile Envy clarification (Breshnev/Containment)
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2013, 02:46:53 am »
0

I guess there's no official answer.

My answer would be 'yes'. It seems logical that if one player is required to make a decision, all the conditions that limit the decision are taken into account from the deciding's player point of view.
Logged
If you find my contribution useful, please donate some Bitcoins: 1LTicKy5ww4tAQwLqRDHxbpKHBQ9QvcK72
My Twilight Struggle blog

blitzgordon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 47
  • Respect: +4
    • View Profile
Re: Another Missile Envy clarification (Breshnev/Containment)
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2013, 03:31:54 am »
0

Interesting.
Yeah, you could make the argument to treat Missile Envy the same way you'd treat Blockade - it's only the affected players' mechanics that are relevant.

Missile Envy sure screws with the rules, I wonder how many questions and weird scenarios that card has given rise to?
Although the above mentioned one is at least moderately likely - both Breshnev/Containment and Mi En are regular headlines.
Logged

pietshaq

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 262
  • Wargameroom username: WojciechPietrzak_TS
  • Respect: +46
    • View Profile
    • My Twilight Struggle blog
Re: Another Missile Envy clarification (Breshnev/Containment)
« Reply #3 on: December 09, 2013, 07:52:49 am »
+1

"Missile Envy" is a feminist book's title so it have to interact with other cards like "How the hell can I apply those stupid rules?" ;)

For me, the funniest scenario is the following:

USSR player plays Missile Envy in T5AR7 as event. US player responds with playing Scoring Card which he is forced to do. The turn ends, the T6 cards are drawn. US player headlines "Ask Not..." and discards some cards, including Missile Envy (I assume he is allowed to do it to unforce himself to play it). However, "Ask Not..." discards more cards than remains in the deck so the discard pile is reshuffled and US player draws Missile Envy again.

The question is: is the US player still forced to play ME for ops on T6AR1? IMHO not, he may even play it for the event because he stopped holding it since the moment of receiving it in return for the highest ops card. This is not the same instance of Missile Envy.

Still, I don't know the official ruling.
Logged
If you find my contribution useful, please donate some Bitcoins: 1LTicKy5ww4tAQwLqRDHxbpKHBQ9QvcK72
My Twilight Struggle blog

discomute

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 65
  • Respect: +3
    • View Profile
Re: Another Missile Envy clarification (Breshnev/Containment)
« Reply #4 on: December 18, 2013, 11:07:39 pm »
0

yeah we are all guessing, but i think the answer is "yes"

you can space cards that were 1 ops but now 2ops thanks to breshnev

i don't see why this would be any different
Logged

pietshaq

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 262
  • Wargameroom username: WojciechPietrzak_TS
  • Respect: +46
    • View Profile
    • My Twilight Struggle blog
Re: Another Missile Envy clarification (Breshnev/Containment)
« Reply #5 on: December 19, 2013, 03:14:26 am »
0

This could be different because if one player plays Missile Envy and other picks the highest card, it's not clear, from whose point of view should the picked card be among the highest.
Logged
If you find my contribution useful, please donate some Bitcoins: 1LTicKy5ww4tAQwLqRDHxbpKHBQ9QvcK72
My Twilight Struggle blog

Bad Apple

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • Respect: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Another Missile Envy clarification (Breshnev/Containment)
« Reply #6 on: January 27, 2014, 07:36:43 am »
0

I would say no.

Containment / Brezhnev add +1 to the value of cards WHEN THEY ARE PLAYED. Not when they're in your hand.

Logged

pietshaq

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 262
  • Wargameroom username: WojciechPietrzak_TS
  • Respect: +46
    • View Profile
    • My Twilight Struggle blog
Re: Another Missile Envy clarification (Breshnev/Containment)
« Reply #7 on: January 27, 2014, 07:42:44 am »
0

They also add +1 when they are discarded, for example to Blockade, Latin American Debt Crisis, etc. I guess they are boosted at the moment of leaving player's hand (or earlier).
Logged
If you find my contribution useful, please donate some Bitcoins: 1LTicKy5ww4tAQwLqRDHxbpKHBQ9QvcK72
My Twilight Struggle blog
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.057 seconds with 21 queries.