Twilight Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Download the Twilight Strategy e-book!

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Formosan Resolution questions  (Read 2370 times)

Rune_TS

• Wargameroom username: Rune_TS
  • Respect: 0
    • View Profile
Formosan Resolution questions
« on: January 13, 2014, 12:17:05 pm »

Hello everyone, I'm still new to this great game and I have two questions regarding Formosan Resolution.

1. Is the card removed from play when the Asia Scoring card is played? This seems to be the case when playing online. However, my interpretation of the card text is that the card can effect more than just one scoring as long as the US hasn't played the China Card.

2. The card text says that the card should be discarded if the US plays The China Card. But the card is in fact removed from play, right? Not discarded. (Because of the asterisk).

Hope you guys can help me with these noob questions :)
« Last Edit: January 13, 2014, 12:53:40 pm by Rune_TS »

Cal

• Respect: +55
    • View Profile
Re: Formosan Resolution questions
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2014, 01:53:38 am »

Hello,

Welcome to the game! Hope you enjoy many fun hours with it as we all have.

1. Formosan Resolution's effect does not stop 'existing' until the US plays the China Card. So as long as the US hasn't played it, then it can be scored many times. However, it only accounts for when playing the Asia Scoring Card or final scoring. (You wouldn't count Taiwan as a bg-country for say, the Kitchen Debates bg country tally.)

2. The card is already removed from play by the event happening, so really what it means is that the effect is cancelled. (Frequently for cards that have an on-going effect, you place the card face-up on the board so you don't forget about it. Same with NORAD and NATO and such.)

pietshaq

• Wargameroom username: WojciechPietrzak_TS
  • Respect: +46
    • View Profile
    • My Twilight Struggle blog