Twilight Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Download the Twilight Strategy e-book!

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: 6.1.2 influence placed at lower cost  (Read 1964 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

realign

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • Respect: 0
    • View Profile
6.1.2 influence placed at lower cost
« on: April 30, 2014, 02:55:53 am »
0

Hypothetically if the USSR gains control of a country in a given action the USA can place influence on that country for 1 ops point per influence marker because control changed during that same action round but if the USA gains control of a country during its turn the USSR must pay 2 ops points to add a single influence to that country because it is technically the next action round?  Am I reading this rule correctly right?  It seems to be a pretty large disadvantage for the USSR.  Thanks for your help!
Logged

pietshaq

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 262
  • Wargameroom username: WojciechPietrzak_TS
  • Respect: +46
    • View Profile
    • My Twilight Struggle blog
Re: 6.1.2 influence placed at lower cost
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2014, 08:52:53 am »
+1

Am I reading this rule correctly right?

No. USA cannot place influence on that country for 1 ops per influence marker.

Note that 2 ops per 1 IP penalty applies for the state from the moment of placing IP, not from the beginning of the Action Round. For example, if US plays Nasser with empty Egypt and triggers event first, he may not put 1 IP per 1 OP in Egypt although technically USSR did not control Egypt at the beginning of the current Action Round. It does not matter since USSR controls it now, when US wants to put IP.
Logged
If you find my contribution useful, please donate some Bitcoins: 1LTicKy5ww4tAQwLqRDHxbpKHBQ9QvcK72
My Twilight Struggle blog

MarlesChartel

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 81
  • Wargameroom username: MarlesChartel
  • Respect: +20
    • View Profile
Re: 6.1.2 influence placed at lower cost
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2014, 04:29:27 pm »
0

Also, I believe there are technically 14 Actions Rounds in each turn (12 in the early war). USSR AR1, US AR1, USSR AR2, etc. all count as separate action rounds.
Logged

Azuredarkness

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19
  • Respect: +5
    • View Profile
Re: 6.1.2 influence placed at lower cost
« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2014, 04:59:54 am »
0

Not according to the rulebook. An action round is one USSR card play, followed by one US card play (this actually fits the definition of a 'round' of play with two players).
This tends to be ignored in some places and cards, most specifically NORAD.
Logged

rukdolphin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • Respect: 0
    • View Profile
Re: 6.1.2 influence placed at lower cost
« Reply #4 on: September 11, 2015, 02:51:10 am »
0


Read the commentaries are really good at it. It made me realize what it was unpredictable.
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.073 seconds with 21 queries.