Twilight Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Download the Twilight Strategy e-book!

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Cost of placing influence awarded by an event  (Read 1681 times)

Austinspace75

• Respect: 0
    • View Profile
Cost of placing influence awarded by an event
« on: May 09, 2014, 04:38:35 am »

Hi, I'm new to both the game and the forum. Apologies if this is answered elsewhere - I couldn't find anything that does.

Anyway, my question is about when a player is awarded influence to place in specific countries as a result of an event e.g. Colonial Rear Guards or Panama Canal Returned;

If, in this instance, the USSR already has control of Panama.. does the US still get to place 1 influence anyway (and make the USSR lose control if that's how it adds up) or is it that he cannot place it as he'd need 2 influence in order to place 1 (as per the influence cost rule)?

Thanks for your help!

blitzgordon

• Respect: +4
    • View Profile
Re: Cost of placing influence awarded by an event
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2014, 06:01:13 am »

Hey there, and welcome!
The key phrase you're looking for is whether the text says as if they played a (X) Ops card. If that's the case then the player has to pay double for placing influence.
But if a card simply says "place 1 influence in...", that influence is free of charge, no matter your opponents influence.
Panama Canal, Decolonialization, Colonial rearguards, etc. all say "place 1 influence in" and as such, there is no extra charge for opponents control.
« Last Edit: May 10, 2014, 10:26:13 am by blitzgordon »

Austinspace75

• Respect: 0
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2014, 06:07:42 am »

Hi, thankyou and thanks for the answer! That was my interpretation too. I think the same is also said in this thread: http://forum.twilightstrategy.com/index.php?topic=254.0