Twilight Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Download the Twilight Strategy e-book!

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: A perfect USSR starting hand?  (Read 2166 times)

lambolt

• Respect: +1
    • View Profile
A perfect USSR starting hand?
« on: November 24, 2014, 06:45:16 am »

I recently pulled this, and wondered how strong it was, I mean, it seems to be very strong, how would you go about playing it (I am a beginner so it's not as obvious as you might think haha). As an interesting aside, if you could preselect your own hand as the USSR, what would you pick?

In both cases (my case, and the preselection), where would you put the starting influence

my hand:
Red Scare / Purge
Nuclear Test Ban
UN Intervention
Marshall Plan
US/Japan Pact
Destalinisation
Blockade
Five Year Plan
(China Card)

Headlining Red Scare means unless he has NATO, Blockade will remove all his influence in West Germany (if he places there).
I can play UN intervention on either Marshall Plan or US/Japan, with the space race taking up the odd one out (or more likely, using US/Japan for OPS&event, and using UN & Marshall)
Test Ban is another OPS monster
Destalinisation immediately gets me into some mid war battlegrounds (I'd be looking at Thailand, Algeria, Argentina for example)
Blockade rips him out of West Germany unless he holds NATO to the end
Five Year Plan is free ops as an AR6 play

Red Scare removes as many as 6 OPS from his cards
Test Ban is 4 OPS
UN & Marshall is 4 OPS
Destalinisation is "4 OPS" of a kind
US/Japan is 4 OPS (though giving him Japan)
Blockade removes 4 IP from WGER in a standard setup
5YP is a free 3 OPS

thats 23 OPS worth of damage, up to a net of 29 considering the Red Scare, and thats without using the China Card - a 5 OPS card if used in ASIA following Destalinization for example.

How would you set up and play this hand?

MollyMae

• Respect: +2
    • View Profile